About Oxley

The electorate of Oxley covers Brisbane’s South West suburbs and stretches out into Ipswich taking in Springfield, Springfield Lakes, Redbank Plains and Goodna.

Named after explorer and surveyor John Oxley, the seat was created in 1949 and sits alongside the other electorates of Blair, Wright, Rankin, Moreton and Wright. The seat is especially notable for being held by Bill Haydan from 1961 – 1988 who introduced universal healthcare under Medibank in 1972 during his time as Minister for Social Security.

Representing one of the most diverse and multicultural electorates in the country, Oxley is home to flourishing Vietnamese, Sri Lankan and Pacific Island communities that stretch all the way from the centenary suburbs in Jindalee, Sinnamon Park, Riverhills and Middle Park all the way through to Inala, Richlands, Forest Lake and out to one of Australia’s fastest growing regions the new master planned community of Greater Springfield.

Whether it’s stopping by for a coffee with friends at Mt Ommaney, enjoying a bite of oriental food in Durack or playing a round of golf at Brookwater, there’s something for everyone in Oxley anytime throughout the year.